Financial services
Financial services
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

In terms of total assets, the Cooperatives sector continues to dominate the financial system with 132 SACCOs followed by 34 insurance companies, 25 banks, and 8 microfinance institutions respectively with most financial services concentrated within the main urban centers Nanyuki Nyahururu, Rumuruti, and Kinamba townships.

There are 3 FOSAs in the county and 3 main mobile money service providers. Agricultural Finance Corporation runs two branches in Nanyuki and Nyahururu. The county established two funds namely Laikipia Enterprise Fund and Laikipia Cooperative Revolving Fund whose aim is to grow businesses and the economy by expanding allocation of at least KES 300 million per year to ensure people have access to capital resources for investment.